Recent Reviews

5 orange stars

“Al Bastini was simply perfect…we experienced all of the wonderful images of Italy – rolling hillsides, rugged woods, silence, wonderful sunrises and sunsets across the valley, cool cocktails by the pool, coffee and breakfast on the terrace. Bastini is wonderfully close to the vibrant town of Lucca and the seaside – everything we could ask of our holiday in Italy.”

Catherine D (international opera singer), (UK/Germany) October 2020

5 orange stars

“We had a wonderful stay at Bastini, a very special place in a beautiful location. With magnificent views over the Tuscan valley below, the house is spacious, peaceful, and comfortable. There is a great pool and everything else you would expect….as well as a piano room..and a snooker room. Occasionally dragging ourselves away from this splendid house, the lovely walled town of Lucca is only 5 miles away, with great restaurants and lots of places of historic interest. Bastini is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. Highly recommended.”

Tim W, (UK) August 2020

4 Orange stars

“A very memorable stay.  The manager and owner could not have been more helpful – we used the chef for one of our evenings, selecting the four course menu for our party of 10 and the meal was delicious. Thanks for a wonderful family holiday.”

Anne P, (UK/Germany) August 2020

5 orange stars

“Our 6 weeks at Al Bastini were really perfect – 20 people over the period! The gardener and caretaker extraordinaire, Thomas, became our translator and our friend – he keeps everything in top shape. We heated the pool and it was the perfect temperature for my guests from California and Florida.  Best of all was early morning coffee overlooking the valley and Lucca in the distance.  We will never forget Al Bastini – a piece of my heart will always be there.”

Janie J, (USA) Oct 2019

5 orange stars

“The villa is stunningly beautiful, nestled on a hillside with breathtaking views. Old charm with modern conveniences, spotless and with ample room for our party of 9.  Our favourite spot was the loggia where we would start each morning with coffee and breakfast then end each night with a glass of wine.  We had such a wonderful time and will be talking about it for years to come.  Great location – we visited Lucca, Florence, Siena, the Cinque Terre and San Gimignano. A special thank you to Alex for assisting us with booking a wine tour, a chef and answering all of my questions – she was a pleasure to work with. Morena, our chef for one evening, was just superb.  We all wished we could have stayed longer.”

Cheryl Y, (USA) July 2019

5 orange stars

“We didn’t want to leave…  The house is charming, comfortable and has everything you want for a perfect stay. The outside area is beautiful with a great pool and beautiful views.  Our family of 10 – across 3 generations – had plenty of space. The time went very quickly, and we all had such a good time, we were sorry that we didn’t book a second week.”

Lee C, (UK) June 2019

5 orange stars

“The villa was even better than we had imagined. Lucca is a must – a lovely walled town. Pisa well worth a visit and the beach is not far.  Morena cooked a wonderful meal for us and the well-equipped kitchen (and barbeque) made self-catering simple. Relaxed by the pool, played table tennis and pool.  Wonderful after the bustle of Rome – we didn’t want to leave!”

Colette A, (USA) July 2018

5 orange stars

“Wonderful family holiday – highly recommended for family and friends.  The house is a genuine home and large enough for our family of 10 to not feel all over each other.  The loggia off the kitchen was our dinner and chatting area where we sat and enjoyed the evenings. The beds are very comfortable, and we all slept very well – the air con being an added bonus. Overall this was a holiday of a lifetime that we had promised our children and grandchildren for some years.”

Maggie R, (UK) August 2017

5 orange stars

“Al Bastini was great.  The pool was so well heated the kids could stay in all day.  The peace and lovely views, the shaded balcony beside the kitchen, the excellent barbecue, the air conditioning in the bedrooms and living room all made life very pleasant for the adults. Lucca is a very pleasant place to wander around in and taste good wine and food. The walk/bike-ride around the walls was memorable.”

Christopher J, (USA) June 2017